Steve Everett: Mr. Pop’n’Roll

Have you ever listened to an artist and their music instantly put a smile on your face? Sometimes it’s hard to pinpoint what it is: the melody, the lyrics, or their voice. It doesn’t happen to me often. But it did when I first heard this guy. Steve Everett is a Greensboro native who now lives in Nashville. I met him in my friend’s backyard a few years back. Not only does his music really resonate with me, but he is a wonderful person. He’s sweet, fun, and so caring. Now you may be curious about the title of this article. No, I did not coin this turn of phrase. If you look on Steve’s Facebook page (or talk to him in real life), this is how he describes his music to people. When I first heard it, it immediately clicked with me. I was like, “yes, that is perfect!”

Steve’s music is so good and so fun! It is acoustically driven but still infused with so much life and energy. His songs are a perfect match to his fun, outgoing personality. Steve is a very funny guy and his audience learns this very quickly. Trust me when I say that I have never laughed so hard at a concert before than when I’ve seen Steve. He will tell stories about his songs and then start making jokes. It’s the best! It makes him that much more likeable and approachable, which is a great quality to have as a musician. I mean this guy has absolutely no problem with taking pictures, chatting with you, and then signing a CD for you. I know from experience. So in short, the things to expect at a Steve Everett show are great music, a bit of comedy, and leaving with a smile.

Steve Everett

Another great thing about his music is that his lyrics are relatable and make you think. I admire artists that can weave words into a song and give you a whole new perspective on life. Steve has that skill in spades. My favorite songs of his include “Sofa in the Sea”, “Sick Sweet Symphony”, “Heartbreaker”, and “Honeybee.” Steve studied music performance at Appalachian State University and has been writing, singing, and performing ever since. He has performed on stages with artists like Sister Hazel, Michael Tolcher, Melodime, and Paul Pfau. He has released two EPs (The Sophia and The Norman) and one full-length album (Reciprocity) so far in his career. He announced a few days ago that he is planning to release his next album this month!  His last album, Reciprocity, came out in 2012 so his fans must be DYING for some new music. I know I am!

Well that is it from me, everybody. If you want to check out Steve, I will leave all of his links below for you to peruse at your leisure. I highly encourage all of you to go see this man live. It will be a night you will never forget! His new single, “Fake It”, came out today and you can go listen to it now on Soundcloud. I’ll have that link for you too. Please mark your calendars for April 22nd for the release of Steve’s brand new album. I have a feeling it will be just as amazing, if not more so, than his last. As always, if there is an artist or piece of music news you would like me to write about, you can: leave a comment here, post a little something on my Facebook page, or tweet me @SongbirdTomeo. Have a good one, y’all! Feel beautiful 🙂

Steve Everett new record

Website: http://steveeverett.net/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SteveEverettMusic

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SteveREverett

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/steveeverettmusic/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/SteveEverettMusic

Leave a Reply

